Kids Say the Darndest

Posted on September 15th, 2013 by Viveca in Circus Life

Since February, I’ve been teaching circus skills to kids on the road. Sometimes they say funny things. Here are a few of my recent favorite conversations.

1.
Me (gesturing to a trunk): “Please sit down on that chair.”
Kid: “That’s not a chair.”
The kid sits down on the trunk.

Me: “Well, are you sitting on it?”
Kid: “Yes.”
Me: “And what do you sit on?”
Kid: “Snowcones!”

2.
Kid (hugging me): “I love you as tall as anyone.”


3.
Me: “What’s your name?”
Kid: “Czareena.”
Me: “Do you have a sister in circus also?”
Kid: “Yes.”
Me: “What’s her name?”
Kid: “Czarissa.”
Me: “Are you Russian princesses?”
Kid: “Yes.”
Me: “Where are you from?”
Kid: “Puerto Rico.”
Me: “So you’re real Puerto Ricans and fake Russian princesses?”
Kid: “Yes, my parents are really from there.”
Me: “Where in Puerto Rico are you from?”
Kid: “Spain!”


4.
Grown-up (not me): “What’s your favorite animal?”
Kid: “Leprechauns!”

Leave a Reply

More News

Calendar

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The End of the Line

A Touch of Dee

3: 148th Street/Harlem, Manhattan

Tuesday, November 15, 2011 I read a bit of that Quran, ...

S: Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn

Thursday, August 11, 2011 Boy if I thought Damaso changing his ...

NQ: Astoria/Ditmars Boulevard, Queens

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 It’s been almost five months since our ...

JEZ: Jamaica Center/Parsons Archer, Queens

Tuesday, March 29, 2011 We take the J because we both ...

SIR: Tottenville, Staten Island

Saturday, March 26, 2011 Holy end-of-the-line, Batman, Staten Island is really ...

2: Wakefield/241st Street, The Bronx

Thursday, March 24, 2011 We pull a last-minute switcheroo on our ...

R: Bay Ridge/95th Street, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 20, 2011 Ooph. No beautiful glowing glass art at ...

L: 14th Street/8th Avenue, Manhattan

Friday, March 18, 2011 This trip feels oddly important. It’s the ...

1: South Ferry, Manhattan

Tuesday, March 15, 2011 Sometimes, admittedly not as often as I’d ...

L: Rockaway Canarsie, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 13, 2011 After 18 years here, the cultural associations ...

6: Pelham Bay Park, the Bronx

Monday, February 21, 2011 We went to Manhattan. We went to ...

M: Middle Village, Metropolitan Ave., Queens

Saturday, February 19, 2011 Yesterday kids were playing basketball outdoors in ...

A: Inwood-207th Street, Manhattan

Thursday February 3, 2011 The idea had been hanging over my ...