New York Stories

 

Living in New York is different from living anywhere else in America.

We walk to a bodega or deli for lunch instead of driving to a chain restaurant or strip mall. We all know what bodega means, and we don’t question that we’re calling a Korean-owned store by a Spanish name. Once we’re there, we are perfectly likely to pick up a tray of sushi and a bowl of matzoh ball soup and sit down with a stranger eating a knish.

This section of Viveca’s Vanity Site is dedicated to stories about life in this strange and wonderful city.

Enjoy.

Note: This page appears in chronological order (top to bottom) not blog standard.

Lunchtime
Taking Out the Trash
Moral Dilemma
Diamonds
Tokens
Please Wait To Rob This Bank
Subway Shooting
Venus
The Smell
It’s All About the Shoes
Decimal Dummy
Complaining Like Americans
Lost Wallet
Directions & Perspective
Ratmobile
NYC Trivia
Take My Sheets… Please!
The Good, the Fair, and the Right
Personal Identification Crisis
Grad Giveaway Grief

More News

Calendar

December 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The End of the Line

Weighing the options

SIR: St. George, Staten Island

Monday, April 9, 2012 Spring break for the Salisbury (CT) public ...

3: 148th Street/Harlem, Manhattan

Tuesday, November 15, 2011 I read a bit of that Quran, ...

S: Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn

Thursday, August 11, 2011 Boy if I thought Damaso changing his ...

NQ: Astoria/Ditmars Boulevard, Queens

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 It’s been almost five months since our ...

JEZ: Jamaica Center/Parsons Archer, Queens

Tuesday, March 29, 2011 We take the J because we both ...

SIR: Tottenville, Staten Island

Saturday, March 26, 2011 Holy end-of-the-line, Batman, Staten Island is really ...

2: Wakefield/241st Street, The Bronx

Thursday, March 24, 2011 We pull a last-minute switcheroo on our ...

R: Bay Ridge/95th Street, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 20, 2011 Ooph. No beautiful glowing glass art at ...

L: 14th Street/8th Avenue, Manhattan

Friday, March 18, 2011 This trip feels oddly important. It’s the ...

1: South Ferry, Manhattan

Tuesday, March 15, 2011 Sometimes, admittedly not as often as I’d ...

L: Rockaway Canarsie, Brooklyn

Sunday, March 13, 2011 After 18 years here, the cultural associations ...

6: Pelham Bay Park, the Bronx

Monday, February 21, 2011 We went to Manhattan. We went to ...

M: Middle Village, Metropolitan Ave., Queens

Saturday, February 19, 2011 Yesterday kids were playing basketball outdoors in ...

A: Inwood-207th Street, Manhattan

Thursday February 3, 2011 The idea had been hanging over my ...